The following behavioral health technical assistance centers are funded by SAMHSA.  BRSS TACS takes requests for support from any peer organization, even if you do not have a SAMHSA grant. The others focus on SAMHSA-funded Statewide Consumer Networks in assigned geographic regions. However, it is still worth reviewing their resources on their websites and newsletters. You may request TA support from the others, as well, especially if it involves their subject focus area.

BRSS-TACS – “Bringing Recovery Supports to Scale”

A technical assistance center at SAMHSA, the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.  According to Deputy Project Director Steven Samra, BRSS TACS can offer free technical assistance resources to peer organizations even if they do not have a SAMHSA grant.  He recommends that you call or email to discuss ideas before submitting a TA request online.

“Please see  sample topics and request technical assistance online. We also have multiple reports, research articles, decision aids, training tools, and more in our Recovery Resource Library—which is constantly being updated with cutting-edge resources and reports.  Please feel free to also check out our BRSS TACS Webinars page that offers archived recordings of webinars highlighting hot topics, new knowledge areas, and innovative programs and models promoting recovery-oriented care and supports.”

Email: brsstacs /at/
Phone: 617-467-6014

Doors to Wellbeing

Website: Doors to Wellbeing

SAMHSA Regions: 4 & 7 –  Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia and Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska

Focus areas: Peer Specialist Services

National Empowerment Center

Website: National Empowerment Center Technical Assistance Center (NEC TAC)

SAMHSA Regions: 1 & 5 –  Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Illinois.

Focus areas: Improving crisis response services.


Website: Peerlink National Technical Assistance Center

SAMHSA Regions:  9 & 10 – Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Northern Marianna Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, Palau, Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Focus areas: Employment and financial self-sufficiency.

STAR Center

Website: NAMI STAR Center

SAMHSA Regions: 2 & 6 –  New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands and Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Focus area: Youth Leadership

CAFÉ TA Center

Website: The Café TA Center

SAMHSA Regions: 4 & 8 –  Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee and Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming.

Focus area: Supported Education, which facilitates the participation of people with mental health needs in higher education settings.