FAQ: Frequently Asked Questions

Is CPRS certification necessary?
CPRS certification is only required if you are working for an organization which is billing Medicaid for your peer support services. Some organizations hire peer support specialists who do not have certification. However, certification demonstrates your commitment to this field of work, and the training process teaches valuable practical skills peer specialists use every day.
Where can I learn more about becoming a CPRS in Virginia?
See the websites of the Virginia Certification Board and the Office of Recovery Services.

Scheduled Training

PRS Training in Arlington
November 27th – December 8th9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
2120 Washington Boulevard in Arlington. No referral necessary. Open to anyone in Northern Virginia
Please contact Shawn Buckner with questions:
PRS Training in Winchester
Winchester Medical Center, System Support Building
Conference Room 1, 220 Campus Blvd
Weekends, September 29th – November 4th
Application can be found here

CPRS Trainers

Northwest – Region 1

Sandy Kanehl

Executive Director
Roads to Recovery
2600 Memorial Ave., Suite 107
Lynchburg, VA 24501
Ph: 434-455-0053
sandykanehl@nullhotmail.com
http://www.roads2recovery.org

Northern – Region 2

Cynthia Dudley

Executive Director & Co-Founder
Trillium Drop-In Center, Inc.
13184 Centerpointe Way
Woodbridge, VA 22193
Ph: 703-763-3865
CynthiaD_va@nullyahoo.com

Mark Blackwell

Fairfax/Falls Church Community Services Board
12011 Government Center Parkway
Fairfax, VA 22035
Ph: 703-324-7000

Southwest – Region 3

Robin Hairfield-Cook

Executive Director
We Care, Inc.
509 East Church St.
Martinsville, VA 24112
Center: 276-634-0300
Cell: 276-806-1910
Fax: 276-634-0038
robin@nullwecarerecovery.org
robinhairfield@nullyahoo.com
http://wecarerecovery.org

Robin Hubert

Executive Director
On Our Own of Roanoke Valley
429 Elm Ave., SW
Roanoke, VA 24016
Ph: 540-362-0061
rhubert@nullrvonourown.com

Central – Region 4

Larry Almarode

Friends 4 Recovery
larry@nullfriends4recovery.org
Work: 804-308-1366
Cell: 804-986-7129
7420 Whitepine Rd.
North Chesterfield, VA 23237

Mary Culp

River City Comprehensive Counseling Services
River City Integrative Counseling Services
mculp@nullrivercityccs.com
Work: 804-230-0999 ext. 216
PO Box 2549
Glen Allen, VA 23058

Margaret V. Duke, LPC, CSAC

Family Insight
mdukecares@nullgmail.com
Cell: 804-339-9865
Office: 804-562-6604
1617 Monument Ave, Ste 301
Richmond, VA 23220

Francis Fletcher

McShin Foundation
2300 Dumbarton Rd.
Richmond, VA 23228
Ph: 202-431-6378
francisf@nullmcshin.org

William Hart

whart1@nullmagellanhealth.com
Work: 804-823-5156
8206 Uxbridge Ct.
Henrico, VA 23294
wph295@nullgmail.com
Cell: 804-201-3374

Carla E. Heath

Region 4 Peer Recovery Specialist Coordinator
carla.heath@nullrbha.org
Ph: 804-363-6925
RBHA
107 S. Fifth St.
Richmond, VA 23219

Calendria Jones

RBHA North Campus, Hope Program
jonesca@nullrbha.org
Work: 804-819-8761
Cell: 804-726-1736
1700 Front Street
Richmond, VA 23222

Jim Kochany

oakowlhill@nullgmail.com
Ph: 804-304-9797

Michael Newcomb

Beacon Institute
Veteran Pathway Home
michaelwnewcomb@
beaconinstitute.onmicrosoft.com

Office: 804-384-9324
Fax: 804-201-4816
PO Box 5621
Williamsburg, VA 23188

Luis I. Quintero

Region 4 Peer Recovery Specialist Coordinator
luis.quintero@nullrbha.org
Ph: 804-357-3505
Richmond Behavioral Health Authority
107 S. Fifth St.
Richmond, VA 23219

Jamie M. Reavis

Be the Change Consulting Services
jmreavis@nullbtcconsultingservices.org
Ph: 804-585-8078
www.btcconsultingservices.org

David Rockwell

Henrico Area Mental Health and Developmental Services
roc@nullhenrico.us
virginiaforrecovery@nullgmail.com
Work: 804-727-8540
10299 Woodman Rd.
Glen Allen, VA 23060-4419

David Rook

Director of Operations
McShin Foundation
davidr@nullmcshin.org
davidrook3612@nullgmail.com
Work: 804-249-1845
Cell: 804-687-3619
2300 Dumbarton Rd
Henrico, VA 23228

Marjorie Yates

Acting Executive Director
SAARA of VA
2000 Mecklenburg St.
Richmond. VA 23223
Ph: 804-762-4445
Ph: 804-922-9882
marjoriey@nullsaaracenter.org
marjorieyates3@nullgmail.com

Francis Fletcher

McShin Foundation
2300 Dumbarton Rd.
Richmond, VA 23228
Ph: 202-431-6378
francisf@nullmcshin.org

Greater Hampton Roads – Region 5

Thomas E. Pratt

113 Rockland Terrace
Suffolk, VA 23434
Ph: 757-403-8557
Ph: 757-291-3084
kapcomach@nullaol.com
Thomas.Pratt2@nullva.gov

Becky Crow Graser

Consumer Recovery Liaison MPNN CSB
PO Box 40 (Physical Address is 13794 Tidewater Trail)
Saluda, VA 23149
Office: 804-758-8014
Fax: 804-758-8030
rgraser@nullmpnn.state.va.us

Mickey Harden

6284 St. Johns Wood
Williamsburg, VA 23188
Ph: 757-291-8637
mickey9114@nullgmail.com

Raymond T. Barnes

Chesapeake Integrated Behavioral Health
Work: 757-547-9334 ext 0686
Work cell: 757-644-7081
Raymond.barnes@nullymail.com

Sara Minor

Western Tidewater CSB
1000 Commercial Lane
Suffolk, VA 23434
Work: 757-942-1069
sminor@nullwtcsb.org

Lorraine Reichert

Western Tidewater CSB
1000 Commercial Lane
Suffolk, VA 23434
Work: 757-942-1069 ext 202
Fax: 757-925-3054
Cell: 757-477-0529
lreichert@nullwtcsb.org

Annie Howard

Eastern State Hospital
4601 Ironbound Road
Williamsburg, VA
Work: 757-208-7812
annie.howard@nulldbhds.virginia.gov

Jan M. Brown

Executive Director
SpiritWorks Foundation
5800 Mooretown Road
Williamsburg, VA 23188
Ph: 757-903-0000
jan@nullspiritworksfoundation.org
www.spiritworksfoundation.org

Ann Conner

Working with MPNN CSB CoOP
Lancaster, VA (Northern Neck)
Ph: 804-462-5040
conhod@nullmsn.com

Chris Yanez

Norfolk, VA
Ph: 757-287-4544
cyanez7373@nullgmail.com
(preferred method of contact)

Angela Hendking

Newport News, VA
Ph: 757-876-7340
amariehen@nullyahoo.com

Bernard T. Williams

Eastern State Hospital
Williamsburg, VA 23188
Work: 757-208-7308
Cell: 757-574-2734
bernard.williams@nulldbhds.virginia.gov

Eddie L. Wiggins

Ph: 757-637-8705
eddiewiggins@nulloutlook.com
Hampton-Newport News CSB
400 Medical Drive, Suite A
Hampton, VA 23666
Work: 757-788-0400 ext 1423
ewiggins@nullhnncsb.org

Alethea Lambert

Hampton-Newport News CSB
400 Medical Drive, Suite A
Hampton, VA 23666
Work: 757-788-0406
alambert@nullhnncsb.org

State-Wide Organizations

Cristy Corbin

Family Support Partner Supervisor
UMFS – Richmond Regional Center
3900 W. Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23230
Ph: 804-353-4461 ext. 1253
ccorbin@nullumfs.org

Ann Benner

REACH Program Director
VOCAL
1904 Byrd Ave.
Richmond, VA 23230
Ph: 804-343-1777
ann@nullvocalvirginia.org
http://www.vocalvirginia.org